Collaboration with QBOL

Interested in collaboration with the QBOL consortium? We would greatly appreciate and welcome your collaboration with the QBOL team!

QBOL database

A central and public database of quarantine organisms will be launched with funding from the Dutch Ministry of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality. This database will be co-financed by the European Union through the QBOL project. It will be further developed and populated within the QBOL project.

Why collaborate?

The QBOL databases will be developed by the quarantine barcoding community for use by the quarantine barcoding community. The extended database of data of plant pathogenic Q-organisms will be available free of charge and the database of samples available on a non-profit basis to the end user community as an identification resource. For example the database will enable National Plant Protection Organisations (NPPO’s) to correctly identify plant pathogenic quarantine organisms on material crossing borders.

4986985_handdruk300x201.jpg

How to participate?

QBOL is working with quarantine organisms and their taxonomically related species. It will grow into an invaluable resource for NPPOs and researchers world-wide to enable accurate identification of plant pathogens and pests. Barcoding involves the sequencing of certain key barcode regions for accurately identified voucher specimens and submission of this data onto the database such that others can search it. Although QBOL has access to various collections of Q-organisms more barcode data from more specimens are urgently needed. Therefore QBOL encourages submission of barcode data from all over the world.

The taxa groups are represented by specimens from different collections and specimens that are taxonomically related to those quarantine organisms. To get more information on the standards required for an acceptable barcoded accession please contact the coordinator of the taxon group from the table below.

 QBOL Coordinators:

Taxon Coordination and contact
Central coordination Dr. Peter Bonants - peter.bonants@wur.nl Plant Research International, the Netherlands
Fungi Dr. Ewald Groenewald - e.groenewald@cbs.knaw.nl Central Bureau of Fungal Cultures, the Netherlands
Arthropods Dr. Jean-Yves Rasplus - rasplus@supagro.inra.fr National Institute for Agricultural Research (INRA), France
Bacteria Dr. Martine Maes - martine.maes@ilvo.vlaanderen.be Institute for Agricultural and Fisheries Research (ILVO), Belgium
Nematodes Dr. Juerg Frey - juerg.frey@acw.admin.ch Agroscope Changins-Waedenswil Research Station (ACW), Switzerland
Viruses Dr. Neil Boonham - neil.boonham@fera.gis.gov.uk FERA (Food and Environment Research Agency), United Kingdom
Phytoplasmas Dr. Mogens Nicolaisen - mogens.nicolaisen@agrsci.dk University of Aarhus, Denmark